Nebraska’s Chemigation Law
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The Nebraska Chemigation Act requires irrigators to obtain a permit from their local NRD if they intend to apply chemicals through an irrigation system. Chemicals is defined as any fertilizer, herbicide, fungicide, or pesticide mixed with the water supply. The NRD inspects each Chemigation site for proper installation and operation of required safety equipment within 45 days after the permit application. An application must be filed for each chemigation injection location.  The applicator must be a certified Chemigation applicator before a permit can be issued. 

OPERATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

· Applicator must post the property when Chemigation is used to apply restricted use pesticides or where required by chemical label.
· Post no sooner than 48 hours prior to application and remove no later than 48 hours after the safe re-entry period.

· Any actual or suspected accidents must be reported within 24 hours to NRD or Department of Environmental Quality.
· Applicator must notify NRD within 72 hours of any alterations or replacements to the system, NRD will then inspect for compliance.
· Permits must be renewed after expiration date (June 1) for next season.
· A list of chemicals applied must accompany renewal request.

· Violation of any requirement will result in permit revocation and possible misdemeanor charge.

REMEMBER:  
Having a Chemigation Permit will help defend a permit holder from civil action resulting from Chemigation activity.

For more information and a copy of Chemigation Rules and Regulation contact your local NRD office.
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To obtain a Chemigation permit:

1) Attend UNL Extension Service training class and pass a written exam to receive Chemigation Applicator Certification  (certification is valid for four years)

a) Training information can be found at http://deq.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/Chemig
2) Apply at your local NRD or fill out the on-line form for a yearly permit. 

a) Initial application cost is $50.00. Renewal application cost is $20.00.

b) Renewal deadline is June 1.   

c) A 45 day emergency permit for $100 may be obtained by an applicator if his fields are threatened. The permit can be obtained within 48 hours after application if all safety equipment is present and operational and the applicator certified.

d) Any person who starts up or shuts down the irrigation system while chemicals are being injected is deemed an applicator and must possess a Chemigation applicator certification number. 
3) All new Chemigation systems must be inspected prior to chemigating. Inspections will check to see if the following Chemigation safety equipment is present and functioning properly.

a) Mainline check valve with no leakage allowed. Located between irrigation pump & chemical injection point. (must be a certified check valve model)
b) Vacuum relief valve located between pump and check valve.
c) Inspection Port situated so inlet to low pressure drain can be observed. Must be 4” in diameter.
d) Low Pressure drain located behind check valve.
(1) Orifice ¾” inside diameter minimum

(2) Must be flush with pipe inner surface

(3) Must discharge in tube or pipe 20’ from well site
e) Chemical line check valve located between injection point and chemical injection pump.
(1) Minimum opening (cracking) pressure of 10 psi

(a) A vacuum relief valve at the highest point of the chemical line can be substituted for the 10 psi requirement.

(2) Prevents flow from pipe into chemical tank
f) Simultaneous interlock device so irrigation pump and chemical injection pump are interlocked so that when irrigation pump stops the chemical injection pump stops.
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